RSS

Dextoxing with Raw Foods and Colon Hydrotherapy

18 Jun

Once you’ve spent any amount of time diving into improving your health, eventually you’ll realize that no matter what you put into your body, it all needs to come out as well.

A really good cleanse does a body good. I always do an annual cleanse almost like a spring cleaning but for my body. I love the way I feel so light after a cleanse. Last year I did several cleanses over a period of months that worked for certain parts of my body. I began with a liver cleanse that lasted for 2 weeks, then moved on to a heavy metal cleanse, kidney, gallbladder, lymph and colon. My thought on the order of the cleanse made sense to me at the time, but I began with the liver and ended with it as well since I knew I would be flushing it with more toxins as the cleanse continued for other parts of the body. I thought maybe if I did the liver first, it would be able to process out the series of toxins to follow easier.

I’m about to begin a new cleanse and this time, I am considering a good whole body cleanse, but my main intention is to cleanse and build my digestion in a way that will benefit me for a longer period of time. Naturally Raw Foods assists in cleansing the body from toxins. It’s high fiber content and enzymes act as a broom to sweep away toxins. I feel the need to help it further along, so I will also be going to see a Certified Colon Hydrotherapist. I had a great once back in Valencia, CA but since I’m in Oregon now, I’ll have to do some homework on the local hydrotherapists and get a good referral ahead of time. DO NOT go to a therapist who isn’t certified in some manner for this process. If you haven’t been before, it can be a little intimidating and it’s nice to have someone with a good bedside manner who has the experience to back it up.

I’ve also heard about the coffee enema but haven’t tried it yet. Why not wheatgrass or spirulina? Just wondering why of all things a coffee enema? Guess I have some research to do.

I’ve been asked a lot about the Master Cleanse. I have friends who swear by it and certainly loose weight and toxins with the plan, but I personally haven’t been able to stick to it for more than a couple of days. Some people are more focused than me and can totally handle it. I prefer to cleanse a little daily as well with lots of lemon juice and I add cayenne to my water during winter months.

Here’s a handy tip for you. Last winter I had a nagging cough in the middle of the night and I was able to relieve it only with some liquid cayenne in warm water. I gargled then swallowed the water and it went away. It also warmed me up a bit. I get my liquid cayenne from HerbFarm. It’s available at most natural food stores. I love to use it in sauces also because it can blend easier than the powder but you have to be careful with how much you use since it’s so potent.

That’s it about the cleanse so…bottoms up!

~RawMa

 

2 responses to “Dextoxing with Raw Foods and Colon Hydrotherapy

  1. zara

    July 26, 2010 at 4:01 am

    I was wondering if you ever found a hydrotherapist? I live in Oregon, and my husband and I are just embarking on this new way to approach health, but I don’t know where to go. It would be good to get recommendations from someone who has actually done it. And also how do you cleanse exactly? I’ve read about the liver cleanse with olive oil.
    I don’t know what we should, I just KNOW we need to do some cleansing. We have close friends in totally different circles who we just learned are very sick. Autoimmune, serious gut blockages, and thyroid cancer! All in the last two weeks they tell us and I just know with my husband’s health history we need to act NOW. We just started our first week of mostly raw, thinking about cleansing. Your blog is great.

     
  2. rawma

    July 27, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I did my own coffee enema and I did locate another therapist here in my town that I will be going to in August. The best advise I can give you is to do some research first about how colon hyrotherapy works and to make sure you look for a practioner who is certified. Since I’m not sure what part of Oregon you are in, you can start by checking the International Association for Colon Hydrotherapy, which provides education for the public as well as certification courses for practioners. Go to http://www.i-act.org and select the referrals tab at the top of the site to find someone near you. I found a good local resource for myself at http://www.ashlandcolonhydrotherapy.com

    Lemon in water is a good liver detoxifier that you could easily add in daily and it helps you get your water intake with a nice flavor. An internal cleanse from food is also suggested before you begin a supplement type cleanse. Raw foods can cleanse you, but go for mostly greens to get the nutrients you will need as well. Another site with great information, a variety of topics including cleansing and videos is Kevin Gianni’s site http://www.renegadehealth.com. It allows you to search specific topics.

    I wish you all the best and know that you are on the right path. If you decide to incorporate more raw into your life, you may consider looking for a raw food potluck in your area as well. It will provide you with a great support base and it’s really fun to see all the great dishes people bring.

     

Leave a Reply

 
