RSS

Ani Phyo’s Raw Food Desserts

30 Jul

When I was at Matt & Angela Monarch’s RawUnion I picked up this wonderful Raw Dessert Book at the Raw Food World store. I’d been wanting to get this book since it first published a couple of months ago.

I am so happy to have it. I use it all the time since Desserts are my favorite part of being raw. There’s nothing like natural sweetness and knowing that what I’m putting into my body is fueling me rather than dragging me down and adding weight to my frame because my body can’t process it. Don’t get me wrong – traditional cakes and sweets are a hard habit to break when you’ve been raised on Ding Dongs and Twinkies. I really don’t have a craving for that stuff anymore. I wouldn’t be suprised if I tried it today and spit it right out. It just wouldn’t taste the same as I remember. I believe that eating whole food on a consistent basis changes your taste buds. Thank goodness for that!

Here is one of Ani’s yummy desserts. Chocolate-Cashew Butter Fudge

1 cup cashew butter

1/4 cup cacao powder

2 tablespoons mesquite powder

2 tablespoons agave

2 tablespoons liquid coconut oil

1 tablespoon cacao nibd

Combine the cashew butter, cacao powder, mesquite powder, agave syrup, and coconut oil in a large bowl. Mix well. Scoop into balls and place onto a tray. Top each piece with cacao nibs. Place into the refrigerator for a hour to firm.

This fudge is best enjoyed chilled. This is high in protein, rich in lysine, calcium, iron, zinc and potassium. Enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 30, 2009 in Agave, Cacao, coconut oil, Nuts, Protein

 

One response to “Ani Phyo’s Raw Food Desserts

  1. mytymama

    March 1, 2010 at 5:25 am

    Yep, I’ve pretty much fallen in love with her book. It is so simplified and everything I’ve tried is delicious. Sounds like the RawUnion was a fun event. I believe I’ve ordered ingredients from them before. GO RAW!
    http://greengirlgourmet.wordpress.com/

     

Leave a Reply

 
