RSS

Sugar, ah honey honey

26 Jan

Honey, ah sugar sugar
You are my candy girl
And you got me wanting you.

Just like the song, this seemed to be my personal Mantra for many years until I found the bliss of Raw Living Foods.

Are you ADDICTED to Sugar? Will someone PLEASE tell me why Sugar is not illegal or classified as a narcotic. Are you kidding me! People are being slowly killed by this stuff every day. Go ahead and call me crazy, but have you seen the link to Alzheimers, Obesity, and ADHD among a host of others. It doesn’t matter if it’s Bleached White Cane Sugar, or Agave. Your body does not need this much sugar. What happens when you eat it? It’s like a DRUG and you want more don’t you? Ok, so what can you do about it – look for a lower glycemic sweetener. I like Yacon and Lucuma. Both come in either a powder or syrup form. Yacon Syrup has about 1g of sugar in a Tbsp and Lucuma has 2g in a Tbsp VS. Dare I say it…..AGAVE has 16g of sugar in one Tbsp! I bet you didn’t know that. I didn’t pay attention for a long time either and I am a total sugar aholic, so I rationalized…it’s natural…it’s raw, but the fact is that it’s not the best for me. Many of the recipes I use do call for Agave. I like to use less than called for, or substitute with the Lucuma or Yacon and there’s always Raw Honey for smoothies. Keep you brain and waistine in check and make smarter choices. That’s all I’m sayin’.

~ RawMa

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
